After 10 days of intense chess competition, it was time for the close of WYCO-2017. It was a memorable journey for all the teams who gave their heart out in the entire tournament. The tournament kicked off with an inspiring opening ceremony where various artists performed to entertain the guests present.

(From L to R) Mr Anantharam Rathinam, Chief Arbiter of WYCO-2017; Mr. D V Sundar, FIDE Vice President; Mr Ajay H Patel, GSCA President; Bharat Singh Chauhan, AICF Secretary and Bhavesh Patel, GSCA Secretary present for closing ceremony.

Guests present for the closing ceremony were were Mr Ajay H Patel, GSCA President, Mr. D V Sundar, FIDE Vice President, Bharat Singh Chauhan, AICF Secretary, Jayesh Modi, Karnavati Club President, Bhavesh Patel, GSCA Secretary and chief Arbiter Anantharam Rathinam.


All the teams present for the closing ceremony of WYCO-2017.

Before the quest began, first seeded Team India Green was regarded as the “Favourites”, but the fate had different plans. Team Iran, Team Russia, Team Armenia and Team Uzbekistan were few other teams which were regarded as the tough competitors in this tournament.

Russian team with the winners trophy.

Finally, it was Team Russia who emerged as champions of WYCO-2017 with some incredible performances against the top-seeded teams. Top-seeded Team India Green finished the journey with second place and Team Iran secured third place.

Nihal Sarin winning gold and presented by dignitaries


P Iniyan winning gold for having highest win percentage


Some of the notable individual performances that are worth mentioning are Lomasov Semen of Team Russia, Firouzja Alireza of Iran, Nihal Sarin of Team India Green, Iniyan P of Team India Green, Chinguun Sumiya of Mongolia and Sargsyan Anna M of Armenia, who won Gold Medal.